Bilingual post: Vienna by bike! // Radfahren in Wien

viennabybike

This post is written in English and German. I will be writing some posts in both languages as it’s a good practice for my German (please excuse all of the mistakes that I make and don’t take it as a “Fehlerfrei” (“Mistake-Free”) text as I’m sure it’s not perfect!) and because I live in Vienna and German is awesome! Enjoy!

//

Dieser Beitrag ist auf Englisch und Deutsch geschrieben. Ich werde einige Beiträge auf beide Sprachen schreiben weil es eine gute Übung für mich ist! Ich entschuldige mich im vorraus für die viele viele Fehlern! 🙂 Ich wünsche euch viel Vergnügen!

Vienna is a great city for bike riders. In the summer, they nearly outnumber the cars! You can get nearly anywhere in Vienna by bike within 30 minutes, so it’s really practical! I love taking my bike whenever possible.

//

Wien ist eine tolle Stadt für Radfahrer. Im Sommer gibt es fast mehr Fahrräder als Autos! In Wien kann man fast überall mit dem Fahrrad innerhalb von 30 Minuten erreichen. Es ist sehr praktisch! Ich liebe es mit meinem Fahrrad zu fahren.

My bike. Her name is Rosa Beate Bitchwheely.
My bike. Her name is Rosa Beate Bitchwheely.  // Mein Fahrrad. Sie heißt Rosa Beate Bitchwheely.

Not only is biking a great way to discover the city, there are also many different bike tours that you can take to reach nearby towns and villages. It’s a great weekend activity! All of the bike routes are marked by small green signs.

//

Radfahren ist nicht nur eine Tolle Weg um die Stadt zu entdecken, sodern es gibt auch viele Radwege die man nehmen kann, um nahliegende Dörfer zu besuchen. Es ist ein super Idee für das Wochenende! Alle Radwege sind mit Schilder markiert.

Bike routes are marked with small green signs.
Bike routes are marked with small green signs. // Radwege sind mit grünen Schildern markiert.

Vienna is full of bike paths that are luckily clearly marked for the most part and are often separate from the main streets. I’ll admit I’m not extremely comfortable riding my bike with traffic! The city is trying to mark most of them with green paint to make them more visible to pedestrians.

//

Wien hat viele Radwege die zum glück meistens klar markiert und neben der Straße sind. Ich gebe zu ich bin eine Angsthase wenn ich Rad fahre und fahre nicht sehr gern mit Autos. Die Stadt versucht gerade, viele Radwege grün zu markieren damit die Radwege besser sichtbar sind.

bikepath
Bike Path // Radweg
Bikepath
Bike Path // Radweg

There are some great resource websites for people interested in biking in Vienna. Most are in both English and German.

English:

http://www.wien.info/en/vienna-for/sports/cycling/discover-by-bicycle

http://www.wien.info/en/vienna-for/sports/cycling/citybike (Citybikes are available to rent all over the city!)

http://www.danube-cycle-path.com/austria-bike-rentals.html

//

Es gibt viele Webseiten für Leute die sich für das Radfahren in Wien interessieren. Die meisten davon sind auf Deutsch und Englisch.

Deutsch:

http://www.wien.gv.at/verkehr/radfahren/

https://www.wien.gv.at/verkehr/radfahren/radnetz/

http://www.fahrradwien.at/

Leave a Reply

